Polaris Short List announced, as well as Rock of Fame honorees

Massey Hall to host a look forward and back at Canadian music

CANADIAN MUSIC will be looking forward and fondly back this September. Massey Hall will play host to both the Polaris Prize celebration of new music and Canada’s Walk of Fame, Rock of Fame ceremony.

The Polaris Prize will be awarded Tue, Sept. 19, with the winning album being chosen that night from the recently announced shortlist:

  • Alvvays — Blue Rev
  • Aysanabee — Watin’
  • Begonia — Powder Blue
  • Daniel Caesar — Never Enough
  • Feist — Multitudes
  • Debby Friday — Good Luck
  • Gavance — Masquerade
  • Dan Mangan — Being Somewhere
  • The Sadies — Colder Streams
  • Snotty Nose Rez Kids — I’m Good, HBU?

The winning album receives $50,000 from Slaight Music, in addition to the honour.

Performers on the night of this year’s marquee winner reveal event  include (but are subject to change): Aysanabee, Begonia, Debby Friday, Gayance, Dan Mangan, The Sadies and Snotty Nose Rez Kids.

Later in September, Canada’s Walk of Fame looks back at some of the biggest Canadian music stars from the ’70s and ’80s with its Rock of Fame ceremony and concert on Thurs., Sept. 28.

It’s as if it scooped a whole bucketload of talent as 13 acts will be honoured, including: April Wine, Chilliwack, Glass Tiger, Lee Aaron, Lighthouse, Loverboy, Max Webster, Michel Pagliaro, Platinum Blonde, Parachute Club and Trooper.

“Okay, Boomer”? More like “Rock on, Boomer!” as that generation’s heroes grab some glory at the hallowed Hall. Many of the honorees will also perform as part of a packed night of performances and special guests.

Tickets for both events are now on sale.